24 contractors earn ACPA awards for outstanding concrete pavement

ACPA Gold award winner resurfacing Ryan Road in Allen County, Indiana

Primco won the Gold Award as the contractor for the Ryan Road Reconstruction in Allen County, Indiana.

The American Concrete Paving Association has presented its 31st annual Excellence in Concrete Pavements Awards for quality concrete pavements constructed in the United States and Canada.

The awards recognize contractors, engineers and project owners who completed outstanding projects. Winners were determined by 56 industry professionals who served as judges.

The winners are as follows:

Divided Highways (Rural)

Gold Award – Interstate 39/90, Madison, WI, to the Illinois State Line

Contractor: Trierweiler Construction Company

Owner: Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Engineer: CORRE Inc.

Silver Award – I-74 Road Reconstruction, Decatur, Franklin & Ripley Counties, IN

Contractor: Milestone Contractors

Owner/Engineer: Indiana Department of Transportation

Divided Highways (Urban)

Gold Award – Interstate 210 Highway Rehabilitation, Los Angeles County, CA

Contractor: Flatiron West

Owner: California Department of Transportation (Caltrans)

Engineer: Cooper Engineering Inc.

Silver Award – Interstate 40 and John Kilpatrick Turnpike Extension Interchange, Yukon, OK

Contractor: Duit Construction Co.

Owner: Oklahoma Turnpike Authority

Engineer: CP&Y Inc.

County Roads

Gold Award – Ryan Road Reconstruction, Allen County, IN

Contractor: Primco Inc.

Owner: Allen County Highway Department

Engineer: DLZ Indiana

Silver Award – Southern Hills Development, Davidsonville County, MD

Contractor: Precision Concrete

Owner: Chaney Enterprises

Engineer: Ronald Johnson & Associates

Municipal Streets & Intersections (under 30,000 sq. yds.)

Gold Award – 22nd Ave. Reconstruction Phase 1, Brookings, SD

Contractor: Timmons Construction

Owner: City of Brookings

Engineer: Civil Design Inc.

Silver Award – Santa Fe Ave. Downtown Streetscape, Salina, KS

Contractor: Smoky Hill LLC

Owner: City of Salina

Engineer: HDR

Municipal Streets & Intersections over 30,000 sq. yds.)

Gold Award – Reconstruction of Belknap Street, Superior, WI

Contractor: Chippewa Concrete Services

Owner: Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Engineer: Northern Wisconsin-Based Engineers

Silver Award – Arrowhead Parkway, Phase 1 Improvements, Sioux Falls, SD

Contractor: T&R Contracting

Owner: South Dakota Department of Transportation

Engineer: Infrastructure Design Group

State Roads

Gold Award – US-169 Reconstruction, Allen County, KS

Contractor: Emery Sapp & Sons

Owner: Kansas Department of Transportation (KDOT)

Engineer: George Butler Associates

Silver Award – US 287 Passing Lanes South of Lamar, CO

Contractor: Castle Rock Construction Company (CRCC)

Owner: Colorado Department of Transportation

Engineer: CDOT, Region 2

Overlays (Highways)

Gold Award – Interstate 8 CRCP Overlays, Imperial County, CA

Contractor: Security Paving Company

Owner/Engineer: Caltrans, District 11

Overlays (Streets & Roads)

Gold Award – Eastside Parkway, Gas City, IN

Contractor: E&B Paving

Owner: Gas City, IN

Engineer: Municipal Civil Corporation

Urban Arterials & Collectors

Gold Award – South Ellis Road Reconstruction, Sioux Falls, SD

Contractor: T&R Contracting

Owner: City of Sioux Falls

Engineer: KLJ

Silver Award – Homestead Lane & 207th Street Improvements, Edgerton, KS

Contractor: Miles Excavating

Owner: City of Edgerton

Engineer: Affinis Corp.

Concrete Pavement Restoration

Gold Award – Runway 17R/35L Complex Pavement Rehabilitation, Denver International Airport, CO

Contractor: Interstate Highway Construction Inc.

Owner: City and County of Denver, Department of Aviation

Engineer: RS&H Inc.

Silver Award – State Road 37 Restoration Project, Mitchell, IN

Contractor: Milestone Contractors LP

Owner: Indiana Department of Transportation

Engineer: HNTB

Roller Compacted Concrete (Industrial)

Gold Award – Swift Trucking Terminal, Laredo, TX

Contractor: Andale Construction

Owner: Swift Transport

Engineer: Terracon

Roller Compacted Concrete (Special Application)

Gold Award – East Holt Street Reconstruction, Mexico, MO

Contractor: Andale Construction

Owner: City of Mexico, Missouri

Engineer: Bartlett and West

Reliever & General Aviation Airports
Gold Award
– Runway 18-36 Reconstruction, Jesse Viertel Memorial Airport, Boonville, MO

Contractor: Ideker Inc.

Owner: City of Boonville

Engineer: Lochner


Silver Award ­– Air Carrier & GA Apron Phase II Rehabilitation, Augusta Regional Airport, Augusta, GA

Contractor: McCarthy Improvement Company

Owner: Augusta Regional Airport

Engineer: Mead and Hunt

Commercial Service Airports

Gold Award – Runway 16R-34L Pavement Rehabilitation, Sacramento International Airport, CA

Contractor: Granite Construction

Owner: County of Sacramento, Department of Airports

Engineer: AECOM

Silver Award – Taxiway Foxtrot Rehabilitation, Kansas City International Airport, MO

Contractor: Ideker Inc.

Owner: Kansas City Aviation Department

Engineer: Burns & McDonnell

Military Airports

Gold Award – Minot Air Force Base Mass Parking Apron – Section II, Minot, ND

Contractor: Southwest Concrete Paving Company

Owner/Engineer: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Silver Award – 911th Air Force Reserve Station, Moon Township, PA

Contractor: Golden Triangle Construction Company

Owner: U.S. Corps of Engineers, Louisville

Engineer: Pond & Company

Overlays (Airports)

Gold Award – Darlington County Airport Runway 5-23 Rehabilitation, Darlington, SC

Contractor: Hi-Way Paving Inc. (HPI)

Owner: Darlington County Airport

Engineer: Michael Baker International

Silver Award – Taxiway C Repair, Grissom Air Force Base, Miami County, IN

Contractor: E&B Paving

Owner: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Engineer: CEMS Engineering